Affinity 2007 Conference
NYU Kimmel Center, New York, NY
July 8 - 12, 2007

Pierce (ThermoFisher) - Long time sponsor and host to the Pierce Affinity Award

The 11th recipient of the Pierce Affinity Award is Prof. Dr. Herbert P. Jennissen, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany. Herbert's Award lecture on July 10th was entitled "Molecular Recognition of Proteins on Surfaces and the Development of Critical Hydrophobicity HIC". Herbert received his award (plaque and cash grant) from Dr. Krishna Mallia in a ceremony at the ISMR gala dinner on July 11, 2007.

The Pierce Affinity Award Committee members for Affinity 2007 were: Meir Wilchek, Ed Bayer and Gidi Fleminger. Special thanks to Krishna Mallia and Peter Bell (Pierce/ThermoFisher) for making this award possible.

Affinity 2007 Life-time Achievement Award

The recipient of the Affinity 2007 Life-time Achievement Award is Pascal Bailon, Hoffmann - La Roche (ret.). This one-time award is in recognition of Pascal's "outstanding contributions to the field of Affinity technology/science and committed efforts to encourage student participation through the Roche Younger Investigators Award Program".

Hoffmann - La Roche - Long time sponsor and host to the Younger Investigator Award

Student participation is a great tradition of the ISMR Affinity Conferences. One aspect of this tradition is the Younger Investigator Award, which was sponsored by Hoffmann - La Roche and Mathias Uhlen. The recipients of the Affinity 2007 awards were:

Marc Herold (Guenter Tovar), University of Stuttgart, Stuttgart, Germany - Molecular Imprinted Polymers for Selective Protein Adsorption by Miniemulsion Polymerization

Katerina Kourentzi (Richard C. Willson), University of Houston, Houston, TX USA - Conformational Flexibility and Kinetic Complexity in Antigen-antibody Interactions

Melissa Collins (David Spivak) Lousiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA USA - Shape Selectivity versus Functional Group Pre-organization in Molecularly Imprinted Polymers

Xing Zhang (Richard C. Willson), University of Houston, Houston, TX USA - Engineered 5S Ribosomal RNAs displaying Anti-VEGF and Malachite Green Aptamers

Isabel T. de Sousa (M. Angela Taipa), Instituto Superior Tecnico, Lisboa, Portugal - Synthetic Affinity Ligands to Bind Cutinase in an Active and Stable Conformation

Luisella Ruiu (M.Angela Taipa), Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisboa, Portugal - Preliminary Stability Studies of Cutinase Immobilised onto Synthetic Affinity Ligands

A.S. Kamalanathan (M.A.Vijayalakshmi), Centre for Bioseparation Technology, VIT University, Vellore, India - Molecular Study of Autoantibody Rheumatoid Factor using Pseudo Bioaffinity Hollow Fiber Membrane Chromatography

Eleftheria Kioupritzi (Chris Lowe), University of Cambridge, Cambridge UK - Detection of Immunological Interactions via the Magnetic Acoustic Resonator Sensor

Kristian Becker (Leif Balow), Lund University Lund, Sweden - Development of HIC Media Useful for Isolation of Proteins Carrying Single Amino Acid Substitutions

Jason LeJeune (David Spivak), Lousiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA USA - Development of New OMNiMIPs (One Monomer Molecularly Imprinted Polymers)

Binh Vu (Richard Willson), University of Houston, Houston, TX USA - Effects of Gold Nanoparticles on PCR Amplicon Size

Steven M. Kemper (Richard C. Willson), University of Houston Houston, TX USA - Retro-reflectors for Immunoassays and Biosensors

Jonathan M. Haigh (Christopher R. Lowe), University of Cambridge, Cambridge, UK - Novel Affinity Ligands for the Purification of Antibody Fragments

Ajish S. R. Potty (Richard Willson), University of Houston, Houston, TX USA - Biophysical Characterization of Aptamer-Protein Interactions

Roche Younger Investigator Award Committee
Ana Cecília Roque, Chair - Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
Richard Willson - University of Houston, TX USA

Lars Hagel - GE Healthcare, Uppsala, Sweden
Irwin Chaiken, Drexel University, PA USA
George Ehrlich, Hoffmann - La Roche, NJ USA
Pascal Bailon (ret.), Hoffmann - La Roche, NJ USA
Mathias Uhlen - Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden